Filtering by Tag: dairy-free
Why is it helpful to have a definition of what veganism?
I wrote this definition to create a tool to communicate what you are willing to consume, so that it's easier on you and others.
Confusion about the many terms regarding what people eat
There are loads of different terms for people to remember.
- Those who eat fish but no other meat of any sort are Pescetarians.
- If you eat chicken and no other meat, you're a Pollo vegetarian.
- If someone says they are vegan but they eat meat, fish, honey, eggs etc. i.e. the only thing they have excluded from their diet is dairy; they are not vegan. They fall under the dairy-free category.
The definition of a vegan diet
A vegan diet includes any item that has not come from a living being e.g. an animal or insect. Examples of excluded foods are honey, eggs, fish, meat and products using the milk from an animal e.g. cream, milk, cheese, yogurt, butter etc. Vegan foods include vegetables, fruits, nuts, seeds, pulses and grains. Alternatives to dairy products can be made from oats, rice, soya or nuts.
A tool to help illustrate what vegans eat
A friend of mine made a chart to show the differences between what a vegan would eat and what a 'pure' vegetarian would eat. I hope you find it helpful.
"The soul is the same in all living creatures, although the body of each is different."
The bonus to this dessert is it includes fresh fruit. Thus giving it a 'healthy' aspect!
This recipe serves 2.
Ingredients for a vegan cooling dessert
- 4 scoops of Vanilla Swedish Glace
- 2 handfuls of fruit - we used raspberries but you could use other fruits, such as, strawberries, pineapple and blueberries
How to make a vegan cooling dessert
- Put some scoops of vegan ice cream in a bowl
- Put the fruit in a small blender
- Blend the fruit
- Pour the blended fruit over the ice cream
- Serve and enjoy
Have you ever got frustrated with others not understanding what you can/can't/will/won't eat?
I recall someone telling me she was vegetarian but she ate fish. She is actually categorised as a Pescetarian!
I remember another person saying he was vegetarian but ate chicken. He is actually a Pollo vegetarian.
Then there are those who have said they're vegan but they eat meat, fish, honey, eggs etc. The only thing they have excluded from their diet is dairy. This group of people would fall under the dairy-free category.
A friend of mine created this after being repeatedly asked if he would eat fish after he told them he followed a vegan diet.
I hope it can help you in some way.
"I became a vegan the day I watched a video of a calf being born on a factory farm. The baby was dragged away from his mother before he hit the ground. The helpless calf strained its head backwards to find his mother. The mother bolted after her son and exploded into a rage when the rancher slammed the gate on her. She wailed the saddest noise I’d ever heard an animal make, and then thrashed and ...dug into the ground, burying her face in the muddy placenta. I had no idea what was happening respecting brain chemistry, animal instinct, or whatever. I just knew that this was deeply wrong. I just knew that such suffering could never be worth the taste of milk and veal. I empathized with the cow and the calf and, in so doing, my life changed."